Right Now, I’m Going With New Friends

Molly and Chris–oops, I mean Chrolly–got engaged. Molly is glowing. She is also completely, totally, unabashedly insufferable.

Sarah and I took her out to lunch yesterday in Belltown, where we were forced to stare at her ring for many minutes until our appetizers arrived.

“Finally!” I said when a glass of ceviche was put down in front of me. Sarah giggled.

“What? Finally you don’t have to talk to me anymore?” Molly huffed.

“No, it’s just, you know, I’m so happy for you is all, and there’s not much to say about happiness.”

“Yeah,” Sarah nodded like an excited puppy. “That’s it!” Sarah is very good at defending me.

“So, Sarah, how’s Ben?” I asked.

“Do you really want to talk about Ben?” Molly said.

“Yes, of course I do. Why not?”

“Well, because he dumped you,” she said.

Sarah said, “Well, actually–“

“He did not dump me. It was mutual.”

“That’s what he told me too. There was just zero chemistry?”

I forced a smile. “See?” Why did Sarah admitting that make me feel so bad?

“OK, so let’s talk about this Ian fellow,” Molly said. “Why haven’t we met him?”

“Uh, because we just started dating?” I said.

“Or…” Molly said.

I looked to Sarah for help, but she just shrugged her shoulders. I saw Molly tap her on the arm and then say to her, “Ask her. She’ll take it better from you.”

“Take what better?”

“We think,” Sarah started, “we think that maybe dating Ian doesn’t seem like the smartest thing you’ve ever done?”

“What?” I said louder than I intended. The couple seated behind me turned and glared. “Sorry,” I said. Then, “What are you talking about?”

“It’s just that, what, he likes you and then he doesn’t? And then he does again? It seems awfully volatile, and you seem so wrapped up in him.”

“Yeah, and the thing with Boss–” Molly said.

Sarah interrupts, “Boss is perfect!” Molly nodded her agreement.

I don’t know what to say. “He is perfect,” Molly said, “you have to admit. Good job, good-looking, good dresser.”

“Mmm hmm,” Sarah said.

“But…but…but…” I stammered.

“But what?” Molly said.

“I don’t know,” I said resignedly. I wanted to say, “Because I’m falling in love with Ian,” but I couldn’t, not with how they bashed him. I didn’t want them to know, and to rip him to shreds, so I just took a big forkful of ceviche and said, “Tell me more about wedding planning,” I asked Molly, in an effort to deflect. Molly started yammering away about ivory dresses and reception sites with views of the Sound, but Sarah whispered, “Is everything alright?” to me.

I just nodded my head, but honestly, I’m not so sure. If my friends hate Ian, do I get new friends, or a new boyfriend?

6 thoughts on “Right Now, I’m Going With New Friends

  1. So, it’s a good thing Chris gave Molly a cut, polished diamond, because if he gave her one still in the rough, I think she would be unable to recognize its potential.

Leave a Reply

