Non-Post: What’s Up With the OC Book And A Contest Of Sorts–CLOSED

What’s up is this: I’m working with a literary agent now, and so I cannot just go and publish a book without her first reading it and deciding on what to do–either show it to editors, or say I should go ahead and publish it for the Kindle and Nook.

So! While the book is very, very close to finished, I’m afraid you’ll have to wait a little bit longer. But the good news is that the book will get to you one way or the other, and hopefully with another set of professional eyes on it, it will be even better than before.

To make it up to you that it will be a while before you get to read the ending, I’d like one of you to be a beta-reader of the book (meaning you’d read the draft and give me suggestions on what to change, if anything). I mean, only if you want, of course.

So! If you want to be a beta-reader, fill out a comment below on what you think Boss’s real name is, and I will pick whoever is closest and let you have the first look and critique it, provided you can keep all the plot details to yourself, of course. It will be like a SECRET CLUB, OK?

 

UPDATE: Two people got very close to first and last names, so I’ll be emailing you shortly! Thanks!

42 thoughts on “Non-Post: What’s Up With the OC Book And A Contest Of Sorts–CLOSED

  1. Clancy. Or Enis. Or Estelle. (Oh man. I really, REALLY hope it’s Estelle.)

    But seriously, you know I’m an excellent beta reader. So if you need more than one, I call dibs.

  2. Delete my other comment. I didn’t read the rules. I probably can’t be a reader now, huh? I think Boss’s name is Gregg. (Totally kidding. That’s not my guess.) William. That’s my guess.

  3. Oh, I love all the suggestions. But the first name that popped into my mind was Brad. I’m pretty sure it’s not Brad, but there you go. :)

  4. Wow, Colin was my first choice, but that was taken. Then I thought Duncan, and that was taken. Now I’m down to my third pick. Third time’s the charm, right?

    I think his name is Sean.

  5. Weird, Daniel was my first choice & a few people have already taken it so I’m just going to throw in my own secret crush’s name: Mark.

    Congratulations by the way: getting a book deal is an amazing accomplishment. Getting nothing but praise from strangers, an even bigger one!

  6. (i realize the contest is uber-closed by now, but:) i never ONCE thought about Boss’s real name! and it was SO FUN to read what everyone else thought it might be!

Leave a Reply

